GURLZ WITH CURLZ
EXPERIENCES

This section is primarily about leaving the digital space and increasingly meeting offline again. Regardless of the fact that we owe our current presence to platforms like instagram, it still is the encounters in real life that empower us the most. That’s why it is always particularly important to us to celebrate magazine releases, create our exhibitions and organise other empowering events.

Would you
like to stay
informed about
our upcoming events?
Then subscribe to
our newsletter. Button: subscribe to newsletter.

GWC X SHE SAID

For the release of our third issue, we spoke to Fabienne Gretschel in the Berlin based bookstore SHE SAID (in November 2021). We talked not only about the beautiful aspects of our work for GURLZ WITH CURLZ but also about the difficulties and challenges we face. You can find the IGTV live here.

Foto credit: Larteyley von Hippel

Growing Fro
in stuttgart

Can I touch your hair? Where are you from? Do you speak German? These are questions which seem harmless from a white person’s perspective. But BiPoC are exposed to these micro aggressions on a daily basis. Based on this - and many other shared experiences from the black community - GURLZ WITH CURLZ FOUNDER Linda developed the idea of the “growing fro”... More.

The “growing fro” is two-dimensional installation composed of Afro hair structures and portraits of various Black women in order to make their complexity of life & identity visible. With previous exhibitions in Munich and Berlin, Stuttgart is now the third city where black women add their hair textures and personal experiences to the Afro installation. We are more than just ONE Afro. We are individual and divers!

Send E-Mail

Foto credit: Manuel Wagner

GWC
X
FORMATION NOW

Our “the growing fro” installation can be seen in Hamburg during the Formation Now*** festival. A big Thank You again to the whole FN team for the incredible cooperation.... More

Would you like the Growing fro to come to your city too? Then send us an email, preferably with a potential exhibition space, a budget and a local contact person. And we can take it from there and discuss.

Send E-Mail

GROWING FRO
in berlin

Berlin 2019 marks the comeback of GURLZ WITH CURLZ since our first exhibition in Munich in 2017. It was here that the journey of the growing fro continued with a new concept. Without this exhibition we would not be where we are today. The day it all really began...

GWC MAGAZINE

1 of 11

GURLZ WITH CURLZ
EXPERIENCES

In dieser Rubrik geht es in erster Linie darum, den digitalen Raum zu verlassen und sich wieder vermehrt offline zu begegnen. Auch wenn wir Plattformen wie in Instagram unsere aktuelle Präsenz verdanken, sind es doch die Begegnungen im echten Leben, die uns am meisten empowern. Darum liegt es uns immer besonders am Herzen, Magazin Release zu feiern, Ausstellungen zu konzipieren und andere empowernde Events zu veranstalten. Im folgenden findet ihr diverse Events, die wir veranstaltet haben.

du möchtest
über Events
informiert werden?
Dann melde dich
für unseren
newsletter an.

 

GWC X SHE SAID

Zum Release unserer dritten Ausgabe haben wir gemeinsam mit Fabienne Gretschel in der Buchhandlung SHE SAID in Berlin (im November 2021) nicht nur über die schönen Seiten unserer Arbeit für GURLZ WITH CURLZ, sondern auch um die schwierigen und herausfordernden, gesprochen. Das IGTV-Live findet ihr hier.

Foto credit: Larteyley von Hippel

Growing Fro
in stuttgart

Darf ich mal deine Haare anfassen? Woher kommst du? Sprichst du deutsch? Fragen, die sich aus weißer Perspektive oft harmlos anhören, während BiPoC sie als Mikroagressionen in ihrem Alltag erleben, denen sie tagtäglich ausgesetzt sind. Auf Basis dieser und vieler anderer geteilten Erfahrungen in der Black Community hat GURLZ WITH CURLZ Gründerin Linda die Idee des “Growing Fro” entwickelt... Mehr lesen.

Eine zweidimensionale Installation, die sich aus den Afrohaarstrukturen und Portraits verschiedener Schwarzer Frauen zusammensetzt und dabei ihre Vielschichtigkeit sichtbar macht. Mit vorangegangenen Ausstellungen in München und Berlin ist Stuttgart nun die dritte Stadt, die die Afro-Installation um Haarstrukuren und Erfahrungen ergänzt. Wir sind viel mehr als nur EIN Afro. Wir sind individuell und divers!

Du möchtest, dass der Growing Fro auch in deine Stadt kommt? Dann schicke uns eine Mail, am besten schon mit einer Ausstellungsoption, einem Budget und einer Kontaktperson vor Ort. Alles Weitere besprechen wir dann.

 

E-Mail Senden

Foto credit: Manuel Wagner

 

GWC
X
FORMATION NOW

 

Unsere Installation “The growing Fro” ist hier in Hamburg während des Formation Now*** Festivals zu sehen. Vielen Dank auch nochmal an dieser Stelle an das ganze Team von FN für die unfassbar tolle Zusammenarbeit.... Mehr lesen

Du möchtest, dass der Growing Fro auch in deine Stadt kommt? Dann schicke uns eine Mail, am besten schon mit einer Ausstellungsoption, einem Budget und einer Kontaktperson vor Ort. Alles weitere besprechen wir dann.

E-Mail Senden

 

GROWING FRO
in berlin

 

Berlin 2019, das Comeback von GURLZ WITH CURLZ nach der ersten Ausstellung in München 2017. Hier setzte sich die Reise des Growing Fro mit neuem Konzept fort. Ohne diese Ausstellung wären wir nicht dort, wo wir heute sind. Der Tag an dem alles so richtig begann...

GWC MAGAZIN

1 von 9